Carbonized Bamboo Flooring

One of bamboo flooring’s weak points is a general lack of variety.  To address this issue, flooring companies came up with a process to darken the bamboo and give consumer’s a choice when it came to the color of their bamboo floor.

A lot of people like the darker amber color of carbonized bamboo flooring, but one thing the manufacturer may not tell you is that the process makes the bamboo softer and weaker.  This means that it will become even more susceptible to damage such as dents.  Is that really something you want in a floor as scratch and dent prone as bamboo?

Comments

Ms. Vinnie Nix

May 27, 2013

No review here, but am considering purchasing flooring (Java Fossilized Wide Plank (Fosssilized strand solid bamboo)) with a “click lock” installation. Does anyone have any experience with this product and/or with Cali Bamboo?

Thanks much!

    James R

    March 8, 2014

    Do yourself a favor and do a google search for reviews of this product. Please do not make the mistake of depending only on the product reviews provided on the suppliers website.

    Niu

    April 2, 2014

    I know you asked this a year ago, but just in case there are others researching for real world experience with the Java Fossilized Wide Click Lock product from Cali Bamboo, I’m going to write a synopsis of my experience here. If you are as unfortunate as I was to have problems with the product, you will find yourself fighting the company. If you read the complaints about Cali Bamboo on the internet, I can say that the complaints in how they handle customer service is true. Doesn’t look that way on their website, but looks can be deceiving.

    My floors were never installed because we couldn’t get the product to click lock. It was like there was too much wax in the joints or something. Anyway, I think it was actually a blassing in disguise since I now found that the samples I had for only 3 months have mold all over them. Gross. Nothing else has mold around here. I am sure that if we could have installed the product and then the boards started to come apart and mold, the company and flooring inspector would have ruled against my installer. I wish I had never chosen to get the Cali Bamboo floors.

Dissapointed Homeowner

October 17, 2013

We had our strand woven bamboo installed less then two years ago. It is glued on the concrete slab. It is a beautiful floor and and it doesn’t dent or scratch much. The floor is brown, carbonized, has a slightly distressed look, and it does not show any dents, only some scratches that are easy to hide (furniture marker does the trick). Overall low maintenance. The problem is the cupping, which started shortly after the install in some areas in the kitchen. We were told it’s due to uneven floor in the kitchen. Well, this summer it became apparent it’s not only the kitchen that is the problem. The entire floor (about 1,000 sqf) is cupping all over, and the sitting room, where it looked the best, now has a high bulge across five 5” boards and at least 7 feet long. The glue is no longer holding and the boards raised significantly. The flooring inspector came and blamed incorrect installation (concrete slab not moisture checked, incorrect amount of glue, wrong application), but he also said he would never recommend installing ‘solid’ bamboo. We are in the process of filing a claim and the company (Not Mohawk)offered to pay for the replacement and reinstall. Do we go with the engineered wood or risk bamboo again? As far as the looks go, we certainly like the bamboo and do not find it high maintenance, but we are at loss why we have such a significant warping and cupping. Is is truly wrong installation, or bamboo itself? I hope it helps…

    Considering bamboo

    October 22, 2013

    To disappointed home owner! What if instead of being glued directing onto the floor they put an underlay and make it like a floating floor would that have preventing this from happening?

      James R

      February 24, 2014

      We installed 720 sf of the Morning Star Click bamboo flooring sold by Lumber Liquidators in June of 2013. The finish on the material scratches easy, however, the scratches are the least of our problems. The cupping started with the shorter pieces in the hallways. By December 2013, the entire installation was cupping and gaps appeared in random areas. After contacting Lumber Liquidators about the problem, We were told that since we did not hire someone to test the moisture of the subfloor and the humidity in the house prior to the installation of this material, the warranty was void. In addition, I was told that our method of cleaning resulted in the problems with the floor. It seems that if the cleaner is sprayed directly on the floor, the material absorbs the moisture along the edges and this was another reason for the damage to the bamboo flooring. We purchased a 32 oz. bottle of cleaner after the floor was installed. Most of the time, the cleaning involves sweeping and using a dust mop. About once a month we get on our hands and knees, spray a fine mist of cleaner directly onto the floor and use a cloth towel to clean the floor. Since the installation, we have used the liquid cleaner about five times and still have about half of the cleaner left in the bottle. I guess 16 oz. caused the damage to the entire 720 sf of the floor, including the material under the furniture and area rugs!! Seriously?!?!?!? In reading the various reviews on independent web sites for this product, it seems that there is a chronic problem with scratching, cupping and separations. The reviews for this product on the LLI website are “selected”, gee….I wonder who selects them. Our first mistake in selecting our new floor was believing that the reviews on the LLI site were unbiased reviews. Our second mistake was actually purchasing this product. It seems that Lumber Liquidators will use any excuse to avoid the liability for providing the customer with a very poor product. I understand that a product warranty is only as good as the company that stands behind it and our experience with LLI is shared by too many others. We made a $5,000.00 mistake, please don’t make the same mistake that we did. LLI should condense their warranty to read “Warranty void if material is removed from factory packaging”. We will have to replace our six month old floor and it sure as heck will not be with a product supplied by Lumber Liquidators. STAY AWAY!!!!!

    Lloyd Wendland

    December 5, 2013

    We had the same problem with our carbonized bamboo flooring. Four months after it was installed it started cupping and warping. It kept getting worse and worse until we had an area that was about 15 feet long and raised about 4 inches. We installed about 2000 square feet of the flooring on concrete slab using the recommend 3 way glue from the company. We soon had 5 sections of the floor cupping and it was a hazard in our home where people started tripping on it. When we notified the company, they eventually sent out an inspector, which we had to pay for, and they decided that we did not put the glue on with the correct trowel. Come on!!! We did it exactly as the installation manual said. Next they changed the response to say that the humidity was too high in our house and that the recommended humidity for the product was below what any normal humidity is anywhere. We have now spent a lot of money having sections of the floor torn out that were cupping and replaced. When we get enough money saved we will replace it all with either a non bamboo product or tile. We had non bamboo wood flooring on this exact area in our house for over 10 years with no problems. The company we purchased it from took no responsibility for these problems with the floor. I do NOT recommend carbonized strand bamboo. It is too fragile and reactive to humidity and any other variable in your house.

      kathy

      January 23, 2014

      We had carbonized bamboo installed by a professional contractor and he did everything
      according to the directions for installing on concrete slab.
      Within 4 months our floor separated in 3 places. He came back and relayed
      the floor and thought it might be due to the washer vibrating the planks apart.
      After that the floor started to separate from the wall in 3 different places.
      It is Not glued down but floating according to manufacturers recommendations.
      I will never use bamboo from Lumber liquidators again after hearing about
      the nightmares.

        James R

        March 7, 2014

        The LLI excuse is too much moisture or not enough moisture. I purchased a floor! I did not expect to have to maintain my home at an ideal temperature and humidity level similar to that of a terrarium for exotic reptiles and plants. Each passing day this flooring deteriorates further, and it has been installed now for only eight months. Please do not even consider installing this product!

    Niu

    April 2, 2014

    Would this company be Cali Bamboo by chance? Sounds like it may be. I would stay away from solid bamboo like the inspector said. Cali Bamboo offered to replace my floors too but I don’t want to risk this or something worse happening again, but even more, I was so frusturated by the costomer service they gave me I just want stay away from them!

Barbara Bowie

May 31, 2014

We have had our own nightmare with our bamboo flooring. We’ve had gapping, separation from walls, and cupping. Our home is new and the flooring is carbonized strand click bamboo (BuildDirect) installed as floating on a concrete slab. According to the NWFA inspector, all the problems are due to installation. 1. Instructions say if there is a span over 40′, there must be a transition area (covered). 2. Leave a transition in doorways. 2. Install without baseboards in place to leave 1/2″ space from walls (not baseboard). 3. Have a level floor within the specs. 4. Test carefully for moisture (7 ways of doing so). NONE of these things were done, so the warranty was voided upon installation. Since the rooms floored all flow together and there were no transition strips installed, the flooring was installed as floating but not allowed to float. The flooring is noticeably uneven in places and obviously there was too much moisture somewhere to cause the cupping. The builder says we let the humidity get too low in the winter, however the gapping was noticed in April–3 months after the house was completed. We have an attorney and are trying to get the builder to take responsibility. We will see.

Jmarclar

July 9, 2014

Purchased Cali Bamboo flooring in Jan. 2014 for new build just south of Buffalo NY. Follow instruction on acclimating the planks with in a day of receiving prior to installation. Installed during winter months with heating home at 68*. Notice an area cupping about a month ago in central area and now it’s all over except in kitchen and hallway. Floor is over crawl space that is damp/ unusually wet this year. Have notice changes when the humidity is normal. Didn’t expect humidity to cause such a problem. Biggest fear is with cupping and walking on it that the constant movement in joints and breaking. Anyone have that problem?

Jim Smith

August 6, 2014

I’m considering bamboo flooring from Lumber Liquidators. It appears that most of the complaints listed here have one thing in common. They installed the bamboo flooring on concrete. The sales rep told me it should NOT be installed on a concrete floor.

bader

August 9, 2014

I have same problem I install thousands of hard wood floors never have problems but with the woven bamboo the floor started cupping all over .they send inspector and he said its because of moisture in the house too much bs from them and Home depot
Am filling a claim

bader

August 9, 2014

Too much problems with bamboo flooring I installed the floor and its cupping all over I contacted home depot and the manufacture send inspector he said moisture is a problem and nothing can be done
Am filing a claim in Court for the floor to be removed and paid fir

Leave a Reply

All fields are required.